Emergency haying, grazing OK´d in NE

Jul 19, 2013
by WLJ

Due to the current extreme drought conditions across Nebraska, USDA announced last Monday the authorization of emergency haying and grazing of Conservation Reserve Program acres.

The counties approved for emergency haying and grazing are Antelope, Arthur, Banner, Boone, Box Butte, Boyd, Cedar, Chase, Cheyenne, Clay, Cuming, Custer, Dakota, Dawes, Dawson, Deuel, Dixon, Dundy, Franklin, Frontier, Furnas, Garden, Garfield, Gosper, Greeley, Harlan, Hayes, Hitchcock, Holt, Howard, Kearney, Keith, Kimball, Lincoln, Logan, Loup, McPherson, Madison, Merrick, Morrill, Nance, Nuckolls, Perkins, Phelps, Pierce, Platte, Red Willow, Scotts Bluff, Sheridan, Sioux, Stanton, Valley, Webster and Wheeler.

The authorization for 2013 began July 16, 2013, for both emergency haying and emergency grazing.

Nebraska Cattlemen is very appreciative of US- DA’s response to the extreme drought conditions that many Nebraska farmers and ranchers are currently facing.

Prior to hay and graze practices, producers must go to their local Farm Service Agency (FSA) office to sign the applicable forms. For more information, producers can contact their local FSA office or visit www.fsa.usda.gov/ne. — WLJ