NAMA elects 2013 officers and directors

Feb 22, 2013
by WLJ

At the annual meeting that took place at the North American Meat Association’s (NAMA) MEATXPO ’13 Suppliers’ Exposition & Annual Convention, the NAMA board of directors elected the following officers to serve for the year beginning July 1, 2013:

Immediate Past Co-Chair, Jeff Saval.

Immediate Past Co-Chair, Larry Vad.

Board Co-Chair, Marty Evanson.

Board Co-Chair, Mike Satzow.

Co-President, Tony Gahn Jr.

Co-President, Mike Hesse.

Co-Vice President, Brian Coelho.

Co-Vice President, John Vatri.

Treasurer, Joe Maas. Secretary, Greg Longstreet.

At-Large General Member, Brad McDowell.

Associate/Allied Rep, Chris Mason.

Also elected during MEATXPO ’13, the following directors will begin three-year terms effective July 1, 2013:

Region 1: Martin Eckmann, Alaska Sausage Company.

Region 2: Mike Curry, Yosemite Meats Co.; Steven Maxey, Certified Meat Products; and David Wood, Harris Ranch.

Region 3: Joe Azzaro, In- N-Out Burgers; Dennis Hajjar, Goldberg & Solovy; Allen Russak, Russak’s Cured Smkd Products; Tom Serrato, Far West Meats.

Region 4: John Schaller, Lopez Foods, Inc.

Region 6: Steve Van Lannen, American Food Group.

Region 7: Sharon Birkett, OSI, Inc.; Peter Bozzo, Michael’s Finer Meats; Lee Freidheim, Cougle Commission Co.

Region 8: Michael Bernstein, Maid-Rite Steak; Steve Falcigno, Buckhead Beef of RI; Beau Heeps, K. Heeps Inc.; Ross Shuket, Old World Provisions.

Associate/Allied: John Fell, Advantage Packaging.

With representatives in the U.S., Canada and Mexico, and a community of more than 600 companies, North American Meat Association provides its members exceptional regulatory advocacy, educational opportunities, and a spirit of partnership that is unique in the industry. — WLJ