USDA provides disaster support for Montana counties

Jul 29, 2011
by WLJ

USDA has designated Valley County in Montana as a primary natural disaster area due to losses caused by winter storms, blizzards, excessive moisture and flooding that began Jan. 1, 2011, and continues.

“Valley County has experienced severe storms and flooding that has caused major losses to alfalfa, barley, peas and wheat crops,” said Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack.

Farmers and ranchers in the following counties in Montana also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous: Daniels, Garfield, McCone, Phillips and Roosevelt.

All counties listed above were designated natural disaster areas July 20, 2011, making all qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for low-interest emergency loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency, provided requirements are met.

Interested farmers may contact their local USDA Service Centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at http:// — WLJ