Additional Kansas counties approved for emergency grazing

Jul 15, 2011
by WLJ

Four more Kansas counties have been approved for emergency grazing on Conservation Reserve Program (CRP) acres. Kansas Farm Service Agency (FSA) Executive Director Adrian Polansky announced Gove, Harper, Rush and Wallace counties now are eligible.

These additions bring the total to 38 eligible counties. Those previously approved are Barber, Barton, Clark, Comanche, Edwards, Ellis, Finney, Ford, Graham, Grant, Gray,

Hamilton, Harvey, Haskell, Hodgeman, Kearny, Kingman, Kiowa, Lane, McPherson, Meade, Norton, Ness, Pawnee, Pratt, Reno, Rice, Scott, Seward, Stafford, Stanton, Stevens, Trego and Wichita.

Emergency grazing will be allowed through Sept. 30, 2011. CRP participants in approved counties must contact the local FSA office before turning out cattle. There will be a 25 percent reduction in the annual rental payment for the actual acres grazed. — WLJ