Nebraska Cattlemen members meet; 2011 leadership elected

Dec 23, 2010
by WLJ

The 2010 Nebraska Cattlemen (NC) Convention held Dec. 8-10 in Kearney, NE, was well attended with over 500 individuals participating. NC members and quests enjoyed a great line of speakers and discussed numerous industry issues. NC would like to thank all the sponsors who helped make this year’s convention a success.

Barry Flinchbaugh, agricultural economist from Kansas State University, spoke at the opening session about the economic past, present and future. He was joined by Gov. Dave Heineman, who spoke about agriculture and its

influence on the state of Nebraska. Top Hand Club and the retiring board of directors were recognized for their commitment and dedication to NC.

The banquet, held on Thursday, Dec. 9, was led by Master of Ceremonies Tom Hansen, Nebraska state senator (District 42). The members had the honor of listening to Chuck Schroeder, executive director of the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City, OK, talk about traditions in the beef industry and showing beautiful images of western art. Members of the Kalkowski Family

Ranch were in attendance as the 2010 Leopold Conservation Award winners.

NC Industry Service Award winners Don Adams and Bill’s Volume Sales, Inc., along with NC Hall of Fame Inductee Roger Wehrbein, were recognized.

On Friday, Dec. 10, Nevil Speer, agricultural economist from Western Kentucky University, spoke at the annual business meeting about moving forward in this economy. Preceding Nevil was Chris Calkins, meat specialist from the University of Nebraska– Lincoln, who brought to light consumer behaviors for source-verified beef.

The Cow/Calf, Seedstock, Farmer Stockman and Feedlot councils met and discussed various issues relating to the beef industry. Speakers entertained topics such as estate tax, how to talk to friends and adversaries,

The 2010 Nebraska Cattlemen (NC) Convention was held at the Holiday Inn in Kearney, NE, Dec. 8-10. Over 500 members and guests were present to par feedlot labor survey, and heifer development.

NC membership elected leadership for 2011. NC’s new president is Chuck Folken from Leigh, NE. Jim Ramm of Atkinson, NE, is the president-elect, and Dale Spencer of Brewster, NE, is the vice president. “The convention this year was full of knowledgeable speakers who sparked constructive conversations by the membership. As leadership, we look forward to serving Nebraska Cattlemen in 2011,” stated Folken. — WLJ