Arizona National Livestock Show awards $18,500 in college scholarships

Dec 3, 2010
by WLJ

The Arizona National Livestock Show (ANLS) Scholarship Program began in 1991 by awarding $13,500 to 11 students in that year. Over 19 years later, ANLS has now awarded 613 students a total of $612,409. The Scholarship Committee recently selected and awarded $18,500 in scholarships for the spring 2011 semester. Scholarship recipients will be honored at the 63rd ANLS Dedication Dec. 28, 2010.

The Spring 2011 Scholarship recipients are:

Houston Engelke of Flagstaff, AZ; Katie Goodwin of Lake Havasu City, AZ; Holly Hogue of Willcox, AZ; LaChelle Hunt of Buckeye, AZ; Kassandra Kinney of Tolleson, AZ; Ryder Locke of Patagonia, AZ; John C. McDonald of Willcox, AZ; Krista Mc- Naughton of Tucson, AZ;

Korinne Leigh Molever of Flagstaff, AZ; Cheyenne Robinson of Cottonwood, AZ; Melissa Turner of Buckeye, AZ; Avery Williams of Glendale, AZ; Hunter Williams of Gilbert, AZ; Lauren Wilson of Safford, AZ; Hannah Woeh-lecke of Red Rock, AZ; Kayla Woehlecke of Red Rock and Amanda Deeann Zamudio of Elfrida, AZ.

Scholarships are available to students attending an accredited university or college for the current academic year. Other requirements include: High School graduation; completion of at least 12 semester hours before applying; currently taking at least 12 credit hours; a minimum grade point average of 2.5; and prior participation in AN- LS as an exhibitor, volunteer, or employee.

For more information, visit, or call 602/258-8568. — WLJ