ESAP honors seven U.S. cattle operations

Aug 6, 2010
by WLJ

Seven diverse U.S. cattle operations were recognized as regional winners of the 2010 Environmental Stewardship Award (ESAP), a program that has honored farm and ranching families for outstanding resource management since 1991. Winners were announced at a reception during the 2010 Cattle Industry Summer Conference held in Denver, CO, July 28-Aug. 1.

The ESAP award is sponsored by Dow AgroSciences; USDA’s Natural Resources Conservation Service; the National Cattlemen’s Foundation (NCF); and the National Cattlemen’s Beef Association (NCBA). Winners are chosen from each of NCBA’s seven regions and will compete for the national award, to be presented at the cattle industry’s winter meeting in February 2011.

“To be successful in the long run, farms and ranches have to be sustainable both environmentally and economically,” said Dave Owens, a marketing executive for award sponsor Dow Agro- Sciences. “You see that tradition in these regional winners. It’s not uncommon in the beef industry, but it is worth noting. So much of the hard work and personal investment is done by people who don’t call attention to themselves.”

The seven regional winners are:

Region I: Cleremont Farm, G.P. , Loudoun County, VA Ann-Mari Lindgren Horkan, the late George Horkan Jr., Carl Lindgren, Tony Horkan and the late Lorna Talbot. Nominated by the Virginia Cattlemen’s Association and Thomas Massie Jr., DVM, president, Virginia Veterinarian Medical Association

Region II: Deseret Cattle & Citrus, Orange, Brevard and Osceola counties, FL Erik Jacobsen, general manager. Nominated by the Florida Cattlemen’s Association.

Region III: Couser Cattle Co., Nevada, IA Bill and Nancy Couser, Nominated by Iowa Cattlemen’s Association

Region IV: JA Ranch, Bowie, TX J.K. “Rooter” Brite Jr. and Family. Nominated by Texas and Southwestern Cattle Raisers Association and the Texas Section, Society for Range Management.

Region V: Mesa De Maya Ranch, Branson, CO John and Carolyn Doherty; Joe and Lisa Doherty. Nominated by Colorado Cattlemen’s Association.

Region VI: TN Ranching Co. and Tavaputs Ranch, Price, UT Butch and Jeanie Jensen, Tate Jensen, Jennie Jenson, Jim and Klenell Jensen. Nominated by the Utah Cattlemen’s Association.

Region VII: Sproul Ranch, Sedan, KS Bill and Peggy Sproul.

Nominated by the Kansas Livestock Association.

The 2010 ESAP Award Selection Committee consists of past award winners, university faculty, federal and state government agencies, conservation/environmental organizations. Any group, organization or individual may nominate a U.S. producer for the award. Candidates are judged on management of water, wildlife, vegetation, soil, as well as the nominee’s leadership and the sustainability of his/her business as a whole. The ESAP award program is administered by NCF and NCBA, based in Denver, CO.

For more information, visit www.environmental — WLJ