Three associations receive scholarship grants from AgriLabs

Apr 9, 2010
by WLJ

AgriLabs is awarding scholarship grants totaling $1,500 to three state associations as part of its booth promotion at the recent National Cattleman’s Beef Association (NCBA) convention in San Antonio, TX. The Montana Stockgrowers, the Washington Cattleman’s Association, and the Oklahoma Cattlewomen will each receive $500 to be used for an educational scholarship for a deserving youth during 2010.

When registering at the AgriLabs booth, convention participants designated which state association would receive a grant if their entries were drawn. John Grande, Martindale, MT, designating the Montana Stockgrowers; Paula Coon, Benge, WA, designating the Washington Cattleman’s Association; and Debra Enis, Vinita, OK, designating the Oklahoma Cattlewomen, were the three winning entries drawn during the convention.

“Asking beef producers to select an NCBA or American National Cattlewomen state affiliate, or the ANCW [American National CattleWomen] Foundation, to be part of the scholarship grant program adds an additional element of fun to our NCBA convention scholarship program,” says Charlie Higdon, business unit manager, AgriLabs. “As a result, an additional $1,500 is in the hands of associations who will use this money to provide scholarships to three young people involved in the beef industry.” — WLJ