2009 AABP Foundation-Pfizer Animal Health Scholarship recipients honored

Oct 9, 2009
by WLJ
2009 AABP Foundation-Pfizer Animal Health Scholarship recipients honored

Supporting students pursuing large animal veterinary careers, the American Association of Bovine Practitioners (AABP) and Pfizer Animal Health have announced the winners of the 2009 AABP Foundation-Pfizer Animal Health Scholarship. Eleven recipients were chosen, with each receiving a $5,000 scholarship towards an education in large animal medicine.

Developed by AABP and Pfizer Animal Health, the scholarship program offers veterinarians and animal health suppliers the opportunity to make donations through purchases of eligible Pfizer Animal Health products. The scholarship, offered to third-year veterinary students in the U.S., seeks to support students interested in food animal medicine careers.

“With fewer than 10 percent of graduating students from U.S. veterinary schools interested in large animal medicine, this scholarship program reinforces the need for the younger generation’s interest in our field,” said Roger Saltman, DVM, MBA, group director of cattle veterinary operations at Pfizer Animal Health.

The 2009 AABP Foundation-Pfizer Veterinary Student Scholarship recipients are:

Aaron Nystrom attends the University of Minnesota full-time while managing his family’s 50-head cattle operation in Worthington, MN.

Amanda Hartnack is serving her second term as secretary of Colorado State University’s AABP chapter where she attends as a veterinary student. She has completed four bovine veterinarian externships and two externships with dairy operations in Vermont and Pennsylvania.

A.J. Chambers, a student at Cornell University, participated in the 2009 Cornell Summer Dairy Institute. He is following in his grandfather’s footsteps in becoming a large animal veterinarian.

Chance Armstrong attends Auburn University and manages his grandfather’s purebred Limousin operation. He is the 2008- 2009 president of the Auburn AABP chapter.

Estella Hovland attends the University of Georgia and is the past president of the AABP student chapter. She has completed two veterinarian externships in England, performing both clinical and field work.

Jonetta Tabor was raised on a 300-head beef cattle operation and is currently attending Auburn University. In 2008, she participated in the Smith-Kilborne Fellowship Program at Plum Island’s Foreign Animal Disease Center.

Kyle Flessner, a student at the University of Illinois, grew up working on his grandfather’s cattle ranch. Most recently, he has participated in the University of Illinois Dairy Rotation and has been selected to take the bovine surgery course.

Rebecca Olinger attends Purdue University and raised her own cattle herd, which she sold to help pay for veterinary school.

Sarah Giebel attends Washington State University and started the local chapter of the Veterinary Student Mixed Animal Recruitment Team. In addition, she has completed three bovine veterinarian externships.

Sarah Krall, a student of Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine, was raised on a dairy farm and holds certification as an artificial insemination technician.

Tyler Dohlman raised registered Angus cattle in high school. He currently attends Iowa State University and is the past vice president of the local AABP chapter.

In addition to the $5,000 scholarship, each recipient was invited to attend the 42nd Annual Conference of AABP in Omaha, NE, Sept. 9-12, 2009. Recipients were honored at a reception Friday, Sept. 11, hosted by Pfizer Animal Health. — WLJ