Oregon Cattlemen announce scholarship winners

Sep 18, 2009
by WLJ

For the upcoming 2009-10 academic year, the Oregon Cattlemen’s Association (OCA) is proud to announce its Stewardship Fund Scholarship winners. Scholarships went to five collegebound Oregonians, each receiving a prestigious $1,000 academic award.

Kip Krebs, Lone, OR: Kip is a sophomore attending Oregon State University majoring in general agriculture with a minor in political science. Clint Mefford, Central Point, OR: Clint is a junior attending Oklahoma State University pursuing undergraduate degrees in both animal science and agricultural communications.

Madeline Moore, Cove, OR: Maddee is a senior at Texas Tech University majoring in animal science with an emphasis in animal business and a minor in mass communication. Shanna Rietmann, Heppner, OR: Shanna is a first-year veterinary student attending Oregon State University’s College of Veterinary Medicine. Skye Root,

Independence, OR: Skye is attending Oregon State University Graduate School pursuing double masters in MPP Rural Public Policy and MBA Entrepreneurship.

“The Oregon Cattlemen’s Association is proud to honor students in the community who are working to advance the economic, political and social interests of the Oregon cattle industry,” said Kay Teisl, executive director of OCA.

The Stewardship Fund is available to current OCA members and members of their family. Applicant requirements included sophomore, junior, senior or graduate level and full-time enrollment at a community college or university for the 2009-10 academic year. All majors may apply; however, some relevance to the livestock industry must be demonstrated. For scholarship questions, contact the OCA office at 503/361-8941 or e- mail katiegoff@orcattle.com.— WLJ