Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame seeks nominations

Sep 11, 2009
by WLJ
Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame seeks nominations

The Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame & Western Heritage Center (MCHF& WHC) is seeking nominations for the 2010 Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame induction round. This year, MCHF&WHC will honor those historical figures who have had an impact on Montana’s western heritage in the years 1860 to 1940.

Two inductees from each of 12 districts across the state will become the third class of the Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame.

The first round of Legacy Awards, voted on by the MCHF&WHC Trustees in 2008, honored cowboys, cowgirls, establishments, organizations, outlaws and a horse through 1920. The 51 inductees served as the Foundational Members of MCHF. Their full biographies are available on MCHF&WHC’s Web site,

The second round of Legacy Awards, in 2009, honored 14 recipients from across the state. Past inductees have included Sitting Bull, Evelyn Cameron, the N Bar N Ranch, Charles M. Russell, Plenty Coups, Granville Stuart, Nelson Story, the Grant-Kohrs Ranch, Fannie Sperry Steele and Frank Bird Linderman.

Nominees can be men, women, ranches, stage coach lines, animals, hotels—anything or anyone who made their mark in the state of Montana before 1940, no matter the year of death or closure. An unlimited number of nominations may come from within each district, but only two will receive the honor.

Nominations can be made by contacting the appropriate district trustee chairman (listed below). Nominations must be received by Oct. 1, 2009. All nominations must be approved by the district chairman and will be forwarded to the MCHF&WHC Board of Directors Trustee Committee for final approval. The approved nominations will be compiled for a vote by the trustees at the 4th Annual

Trustees Gathering to be held in Lewistown, MT, Feb. 6, 2010.

Inductees will be announced by press release in June 2010. Next of kin or an establishment representing the award recipient will receive a MCHF&WHC certificate and will be invited to the next Annual Trustees Gathering.

District Trustee Chairmen: District 1 (Daniels, Phillips, Roosevelt, Sheridan, Valley counties): Linda Nybakken, Nashua, MT—406/ 785-4341 District 2 (Dawson, Garfield, McCone, Prairie, Richland, Wibaux counties): Charles Moline, Brockway, MT—406/485-2276 District 3 (Carter, Custer, Fallon, Powder River, Rosebud, Treasure counties): Dianne O’Neill, Miles City, MT—406/234-5632 District 4 (Blaine, Choteau, Hill, Liberty counties): Please call MCHF directly—406/653-3800 District 5 (Cascade, Glacier, Pondera, Teton, Toole counties): Mike Waite, Great Falls, MT—406/ 799-9237 District 6 (Fergus, Golden Valley, Judith Basin, Musselshell, Petroleum, Wheatland counties): Kate Ruland—406/861-0612 District 7 (Big Horn, Carbon, Stillwater, Sweet Grass, Yellowstone counties): Bonnie Voelz, Roberts, MT—406/445-2303 District 8 (Broadwater, Jefferson, Lewis and Clark counties): Ariel Overstreet, Helena, MT—406/930- 1317 District 9 (Gallatin, Meagher, Park counties): Suze Bohleen, Wilsall, MT—406/578-2369 District 10 (Flathead, Lake, Lincoln, Sanders counties): Michele Reese —406/862-8746 District 11 (Mineral, Missoula, Ravalli counties): Please call MCHF directly—406/653-3800 District 12 (Deer Lodge, Beaverhead, Silver Bow, Granite, Madison, Powell counties): Stan Smith, Dillon, MT—406/683-4429 — WLJ