Delegates elect leaders at Angus association’s annual meeting

Dec 2, 2008
Delegates elect leaders at Angus association’s annual meeting

Jay King, Rock Falls, IL, was elected the American Angus Association (AAA) president and chairman of the board at the group’s 125th Annual Convention of Delegates Nov. 17, 2008, in Louisville, KY. He follows Paul Hill, Bidwell, OH. Bill Davis, Sidney, MT, was chosen by the delegates to serve as vice president and vice chairman of the board. Joe Hampton, Mount Ulla, NC, will serve as treasurer for the year. Five individuals were elected to the association’s board of directors, including Arlen Sawyer, Bassett, NE; Doug Schroeder, Clarence, IA; Darrell Silveira, Firebaugh, CA; Jim Sitz, Dillon, MT; and Gordon Stucky, Kingman, KS. More than 360 elected delegates from 40 states, the District of Columbia and Canada represented AAA members and conducted the business of the association during the annual meeting and election. The meeting was at the Kentucky Fair and Exposition Center in conjunction with the North American International Livestock Exposition Super Point Roll of Victory Angus Show. Commemorative activities were also conducted to celebrate the association’s 125th anniversary.

King is a lifelong resident of Illinois. He and his wife, Chris, as well as their children and families, reside in Rock Falls. King owns and operates Sandrock Farms - Sauk Valley Angus with his daughter and son-in-law.

Sauk Valley Angus hosts two production sales annually and has been enrolled in Angus Herd Improvement Records since 1992. Ten Sauk Valley owned cows reached Pathfinder status in the 2008 Pathfinder Report. The Angus herd was one of the first to be enrolled in the University of Illinois Beef Performance Testing Program. The farm also includes more than 10,000 acres of row crops, vegetables and forages.

Youth programs are important to King. He was active in 4-H and served as a district and state officer in FFA. He was a charter member of the Illinois Junior Angus Association and served on its first board of directors. Both of his children were also active in the junior Angus programs and represented Illinois in the National Junior Angus Showmanship Contest.

During his term on the association’s board of directors, King has served on numerous committees as well as the boards of Certified Angus Beef LLC (CAB), Angus Productions Inc. (API), and Angus Foundation.

As association president, King will serve as chairman of the executive committee and work closely with all directors to lead the board during the next year. Bill Davis, the association’s newly elected vice president, recently completed his second threeyear term on the board and year as treasurer. He and his wife, Jennifer, operate Rollin’ Rock Angus near Sidney, MT. He is a past director of the Montana Stockgrowers Association and Montana Angus Association in addition to being past director and president of the Montana Beef Performance Association.

As vice president and vice chairman, Davis will serve on the executive, breed improvement, finance and planning, and information and data management committees. He will also serve as chairman of the API board and is on the CAB board. —WLJ